Bishops Tawton Primary School is governed by the               Two Rivers Federation Governing Body

The three core functions of the Governing Body are:

  • ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure that its money is well spent, including the pupil premium.
  • To form close links with the school and to give encouragement, support and to celebrate positive developments of the school.
  • To assess the needs of the school and monitor the fabric of the building.
  • To oversee health and safety in the school.
  • To represent the legitimate concerns and interests of the pupils, parents, staff in the wider sense, thus serving the school and the community.
  • To support and celebrate positive developments in the school.
For more information about the Two Rivers Governing Body click here

Two Rivers Federation Governing Board

Executive Headteacher - Melanie Smallwood

Chair - Peter Ong (Health and Safety)

Vice-Chair - Ruth Gilbert

Simon Mills - (SEND)

Sarah Huxtable -  (Safe-guarding)

Rev Martin Warren

Sarah Amery

Emma Wise

Eleanor Harrison 

Matthew Satterley 

Joanna Smith 

Clerk - Abby Kennedy-Brown


Terms of office